Get Ready to Sweat

I am happy to announce that Buenos Aires is in full bloom! This was a strange winter for me. My first without snow, and while Buenos isn’t particularly “grey” it was a lot greyer (wait gray vs grey. . .) than what I am accustomed to having lived in both Colorado and New Mexico. But, the tempts are rising, along with the humidity levels, and as I mentioned in my previous post – at first glance this city doesn’t come across as a healthy one. But, then you look at the people, and you rarely see a fat person here. Everyone, for the most part, is fit and fine. It is safe to say Argentinos take beauty, fitness, and their well-being very seriously – to quote my girl Flor – “all women do here is squat, because they know that at some point they are going to be showing their asses”. It’s true, have you seen the bikinis? Don’t be shy ladies, embrace the tanga and let your cheeks get some, I am assuming, much needed sunshine.

While I have been pretty dedicated to eating well and my yoga practice, I have not been so dedicated to cardio. I love to run, but for some reason I can’t get the motivation in the mornings, mostly because my iPod was stolen, waaaaa. Anyway, I could feel it in my bones – the need to be active – to move – to work my muscles. Soooo luckily a friend of a friend teaches Crossfit here with Vitruvian. The best part, the classes are super affordable! 30p a session and 250p for the month!!! Not motivated? Think of it this way – you can eat 4 empanadas – orrrr you can get a work out in. . . . just saying. With that logic, Flor and I got off our asses and made our way to our first Crossfit class last week. There was a time in my life when I worked out religiously – but it’s safe to say it’s been at least 2 years since then. Were we super intimidated? You know it. Was it hard? Let’s put it this way, their motto is, “look good naked”, and after that workout I have a feeling we are well on our way ;). I do love a good ass kicking so, Bring. It. On.

Leave a Reply

