Let Go

I know it’s not Sunday but I have some real talk for you anyway.

It’s so easy to get wrapped up in your own lives when traveling. It’s easy to forget that life goes on back home. Thanks to social media, if you have internet access, you can feel a a little closer. Sure you missed that barbecue/concert/baby shower, but you saw the pictures, maybe even Skyped in – it helps to make you feel included – it’s not the same but it suffices.

But, what do you do when you lose someone while abroad? I find myself wanting to retreat – hide – because if I don’t see it. . .

I’ve lost people I loved before, I’ve sadly been to more than my share of funerals, but never from such a distance. It’s now that I realize how nice it is to have a funeral/memorial to go to, one last goodbye, the hugs, sharing of memories.

I don’t know how to grieve in this situation. I am not sure how I am going to honor my grandmother yet. There is a special place in this universe for women like her. I am not concerned with what that place is called, but I am comforted in knowing she is there. For a woman to take in and raise children that weren’t biologically hers and treat them as if they were. Her struggles, hard work and love are all part of the reason I get to live this life. Thank you Grandma Edna for helping to shape my father into the man he is today. Thank you for your role in the “bigger picture”. You may have always burned the best cuts of meat, but damn if you couldn’t taste the love.

xoxo

One thought on “Let Go

Leave a Reply

