Don’t Just Talk About It – Be About IT – A Guest Post!

Hello June! Weird to think that there was a very real chance that I was going to be getting on a plane and heading home today. I would be leaving for the airport in a few hours – chau chau Buenos, besitos y todo. Buuuuuuuut thankfully that is not the case and I can’t think of a better lead into this weeks “Real Talk Sunday”. Not only is this another Real Talk but it’s also . . .  a Guest Post!!!! Yay! 

This weeks Real Talk is brought to you by one of my absolute favorite people that I have met on this journey. Debbie has been traveling on and off for the past couple of years and has recently returned to Switzerland – sadly ;). I wanted her to write this in Swiss German, but she was kind enough to write it in English because “nobody uses Swiss German” lol. Extrano muchisimo!!! xoxoxo

So, I grew up in this small village in the Swiss countryside, where you’ll find more cows than people and where nothing ever seems to change. As a kid I learned how the ideal life was supposed to be: You go to school, get a useful education, a safe job with a nice paycheck, a husband, a house, kids, a Golden Retriever . . . you know what I am talking about. While this might be great for some, for me, it just never was what I dreamed about.

Now a few years later, I am writing this guest blog for Sonja. After university I chose the unconventional path. I’ve spent the majority of my time abroad, lived in different countries, worked here and there, and travelled when I had the chance and a few pennies leftover. I wasn’t always sure about what I was doing and why I was doing it, but one way or another it always turned out to be great and I have never regretted a single choice.

So, why am I writing this? I want to inspire you to get out there. Reach beyond your scope! Are you thinking about taking that job you were offered on another continent? Considering study abroad? What about that big trip you always wanted to go on and for some reason just never did it: maybe because you worried about your career, your friends or about missing out on something while you’re away . . .  I say:

Stick your neck out and GO!

Because when you go abroad, you learn and grow in so many ways, you’ll discover beautiful places, collect unforgettable memories and get the opportunity to connect with people from all over the world. You’ll laugh with them, maybe cry with them. They will inspire you and make you look at things from different perspectives.

Throwing yourself into the unknown is not always easy; it comes with sacrifices and challenges. It takes the courage to fail; it takes faith in yourself, optimism and often a bit of good luck. Though, and this is what Sonja kept on telling me while I was living with her in Buenos Aires: if you really want to do something, you’ll always find a way! You need to manifest that it will happen and go for it.

JUST.GO.FOR.IT!

Life’s short, so why make excuses and wait? Stop worrying, take risks, but don’t be thoughtless. Live in and for THE MOMENT and do the things you want to do. If not, you might miss out on incredible experiences and great memories.

And you know you’re doing the right thing when you look around and think

‘I love this moment’!

For me, it’s the little moments, like sitting in a park in Buenos Aires surrounded by people chatting in Spanish and drinking mate – standing in a hectic street in Moscow surrounded by ancient cars, a language I couldn’t understand and letters I could not read – watching the stars in the middle of a desert – biking to work in the morning sun in Amsterdam. . .

I believe in taking chances in life, be it when it comes to travelling, a career, love, anything . . .  you might be surprised and perhaps taking that chance could turn into one of the best things you’ve ever done. You will never find out if you don’t give it a shot.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “Don’t Just Talk About It – Be About IT – A Guest Post!

Leave a Reply

