Pants, Traveling, Sisterhood, Yaya – Que?

Sorry I didn’t post at all last week. I was locked out of my account – nooooooo, but I was able to login today :) .

Before I get into my “Real Talk Session” – can I just note that yesterday I went for my first run since “The Great Ankle Sprain of 2013.” And, It. Was. Amazing!!! It killed me –  of course, it’s been 3 months, but it felt so good!!!!

OK, back to Real Talk…

Last night, all us chicas de Casa de Ramma ;) were sitting around the kitchen table (I was trying out a new hair mask), drinking wine, sharing stories, and I couldn’t help but think to myself about how in love with that moment I was. We live in a large house 5 women 5 men. All lovely, but it’s rare that all the women get together and have some quality “girl time”.

I have to say that my time with my ladies back home is what I have missed the most out here. And honestly, this is where my whole “real talk sessions” came from. You knew you should settle into your seat when the conversation was prefaced with “OK, real talk…”

Ever since I can remember I’ve always been really lucky to have a solid group of supportive ladies in my corner. I’ve never understood why women are expected to size each other up, pick each other apart, and keep one another at bay.  I’ve never been one of those women that doesn’t like other women.

As lame as this sounds, and yes I will allow some eye rolling, but I truly believe in sisterhood. In one of my favorite choreopoems “For Colored Girls…” by Ntozake Shange, she states “Waz missing somethin/Somethin so important/Somethin promised/A layin on of hands”. I have always interpreted to this to be referring to the importance of women supporting women, of sisterhood. It is in these moments that we can truly can heal each other. There is something comforting and empowering in being around amazing women with no judgments, sharing a sense of understanding, and respect.

I have been so lucky that thus far I have met some truly beautiful women here in BsAs. So, yes, thank you, more please.

2 thoughts on “Pants, Traveling, Sisterhood, Yaya – Que?

    1. Thanks!! I know how you feel. It’s nice having a full house because I haven’t had a lot of time to be lonely. But, there are moments when I think of an inside joke and it makes me so nostalgic…

Leave a Reply

