Wait, you’re how old???

The topic for this weeks edition of “Real talk Sunday” is – drum-roll please – AGE.

So, as strange as this is going to sound, it doesn’t change the fact that turning 26 has totally thrown me. You know how most birthdays are, you wake up – bask in the glory of the fact that it’s your day – but aside from seeing your Facebook notifications go up – nothing really changes. You don’t look older. You don’t grow taller. Your boobs don’t go up a cup size (naturally). For the most part, it’s just another day on the calendar.

There have only been two birthdays when I can actually say that I felt “different” – my 23rd and my 26th. The day of my 23rd I woke up and felt like an adult and I LOVED it. But, 26. 26! Oh man, I woke up and felt, older, like something had changed. I am in the last leg of my mid-twenties. WTF. When did that happen? I don’t have the best birthday luck. For some reason, my birthdays always tend to be anticlimactic.

Last year, the BIG 25, I found myself with a 102 degree fever, hopped up on meds, too sick to move. The year before that one of my friends got into a fight which got us kicked out of the club we were at. Another time, a friend had found out her bf was cheating on her. The list goes on and on. I haven’t properly celebrated my birthday in YEARS. As a result, I had decided that if I had to turn 26, that I would do it in a fabulous fashion – hello Buenos Aires! What happened? I sprained my ankle the day before. Mind you the housemates and I made dinner and it was lovely but there was no going out, no dancing – just me and bag of ice. Oh well :).

I have to admit I am feeling the pressure with this new year. The pressure to “grow up”, “settle down”. When I look at my life in a traditional sense I should be settling into a career, a serious relationship, perhaps even a home. I couldn’t be further away from all of those things. I think that is what is getting to me the most with this new year, and new age. I have no qualms with growing up. I love being a grown ass woman. I loved being a teen, but I am glad that’s over. I want to be a woman on my own terms. I have always been stubborn and hell bent on doing things my way. I am in no hurry to “settle down”.

The thing that scares me the most about getting older, isn’t that I am going to age, it’s that I didn’t do all the things I wanted to do “when I was young”. As I start to say goodbye to the years in which I am supposed to be in my “prime” – I wonder did it do it “right”. Do I have all the ingredients that will allow me to age with grace? I think the most important lesson for me to learn is staring me in the face. I need to stop over analyzing. I need to get out of my head. What’s in a birthday? Its a mark that shows another journey around the sun. Wonderful! Instead of focusing on that one day, I am going to make more of a conscious effort to live everyday to the fullest. So on the next anniversary of my birth I can look back and be proud of who I am and what I’ve done. Because if I must get older, I better have some great stories to tell.

2 thoughts on “Wait, you’re how old???

  1. Crikey, well here is my take on a couple of things…

    Firstly, how old would you be if you didn’t know how old you were?
    Secondly, you only need an age if you intend to claim social security sometime in the future,
    But most importantly, hell don’t grow up, just remain out of control and see what develops !

    😉

    1. 1)OOOO I think at this point in time I would choose 23. I felt like I was being taken seriously but was still young enough to be considered “young”.
      2) Good point
      3) I like your style!

Leave a Reply

