Ask and you Shall Recieve

I have decided to have “Real Talk Sundays”. My posting “Whoooo Arrrre Youuuu” was the 1st installment. This will, of course, be the 2nd. So, now you know a bit about me. And a little about my experiences here – how am I doing it? How is this possible?

In my first posting, “Nuevo Ano, Nuevo Vida“, I alluded to the fact that it was about a year ago I decided to make this move. To be honest, it was more than a year ago. The idea was planted in 2009 when I returned to the states after living in India. Something clicked, and I realized there were so many opportunities out there and all were very possible.

That said, life happens. I finished school – had boyfriends – settled into “convenient” jobs that kept me afloat. As a result, that was all I was doing.

Floating in mid-air – waiting for a breeze to move me along.

It was easy. I was comfortable, but I wasn’t happy. Yes, I loved my friends, my life etc. but I was frustrated. It was 2010, what were my goals? I wasn’t in a mountain of student loan debt just to be a server, in some restaurant, where the owner treated her staff with not even the slightest bit of respect; hoping the jerk, who won’t stop hitting on me, will give me a decent tip so I can put gas in my car. I didn’t want to wake up 5 – 6 years later realizing that I was in the same space, doing the same thing.

So, I thought long and hard about what it was I wanted to be doing. I wrote it down. Everyday.

1) I want to travel

2) I want to live abroad

3) I want to be fluent in Spanish

The list went on and on. But, those were my top 3 things. In the summer of 2011 I started thinking about places I could see myself living in Central and South America. Then, things just started happening. I kept meeting people who lived/were from Buenos Aires. It always came back to Buenos Aires. So, I took it as a sign and started looking into how I could make this happen. By Christmas 2011 I was pretty much convinced I was moving here to teach English and started telling my family and friends of this idea that I had.

Then one cold February day, while picking the brain of one of my bff’s about teaching abroad (she had lived and taught in France) her, then soon to be, hubby was like “yo, apply to my company we have an opening and we are located all around the world – including Argentina”. Jaw dropped – um OK. Long story short (a few writing samples and a 2 hour interview later) I got the job!

Then after months of holding my breath, patience, and hair pulling – I booked my tickets the day before Thanksgiving 2012 and the reality hit me.

HOLY SHIT! Everything up to that moment fell perfectly into place.

What happened next was amazing. I hit some serious obstacles. Followed by more hair pulling, tears, and long exhales. But, I am such a lucky, blessed woman. My friends stepped into gear and did everything they could to smooth out the path that lay before me. I really don’t know what I would have done my last 2 months without them.

538554_581007441110_1258267896_n

I am not sure how the rest of my time here is going to go. But, at the end of the day I can at least say I tried. If I can make this a reality, so can YOU. You have to put yourself out there. We can’t be afraid to ask for what we want in life. I’d rather get a million “no’s” than have sleepless nights wondering “if”.

Entiendes? Claro  🙂

10 thoughts on “Ask and you Shall Recieve

  1. “I’d rather get a million “no’s” than have sleepless nights wondering “if”.” I’ve always wanted to know … “why?” Do and there are no ifs, don’t and life is filled with regrets. Sometimes regrets come with the DO’s as well but at least you know the outcome 🙂

    Great blog. I look forward to reading more.

    Gringa, your sister in expatria en la Republica Dominicana!

      1. Remember, lol, I didn’t say no regrets 🙂 There are many of those, think I’ll have to write about that, but I’m trying to keep on a positive. grrrr

  2. Choti hermana i remember that night when u Dana and I were eating dinr at cuba cuba. U told us if u put it out in the universe wat u want to do it will come bac to u! Im very proud of u to know that it all fell through for u! I love u mucho!!!

Leave a Reply

