Sunday Funday – Sunday Fair-day?

IMG_6222

If you find yourself in BsAs on a Sunday there are a number of things you can and should do. Last Sunday I (foolishly) went with some of my housemates to La Feria de San Telmo. Why was this a foolish choice for me? As I mentioned in a previous post, I sprained my ankle that very morning while on a run, only I didn’t realize until after walking around for 8 hours at this very fair. SMH.IMG_6210

That aside, I am glad I went. It was a great way to walk around and get some amazing people watching in. Located in one of the oldest neighborhoods in Buenos Aires, this street fair is popular for its antiques and unique goods.

I was told that this fair was big, but I didn’t realize just how big it was going to be. It’s huge, making it almost impossible to see it all in one day. If you look closely at the photo to the right you can see the people go on and on and on. There are stalls after stalls after stalls lining the cobble stone streets and tango/music performances at the end of every blockIMG_6208.

Don’t worry you won’t go hungry at this fair there are plenty of places for you to get your fill of bife de lomo, choripan, and empanadas. IMG_6205This is what really excited me and I will devote entire postings on the food alone – deservedly :).

While the walking around was great, I think my favorite part of the day was when we sat down, shared a carafe of Sangria and got some solid people watching time in – my favorite thing to do anywhere.

IMG_6220

I wasn’t in the mood to buy anything as it was my first week here, but if you are looking for some souvenirs for yourself and others this is definitely a great place to go.

***Side Note***

I took the photo of the bottles on my home page at the fair 🙂

Leave a Reply

